Unless he comes back to Auburn in 2014 to make a run his senior year, running back Tre Mason will not join Pat Sullivan, Bo Jackson and Cam Newton as a Tigers Heisman winner. 

Mason finished sixth in voting for 79th Heisman Trophy race Saturday night at the Best Buy Theatre in Times Square.  Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won by a very large margin. 

However, the SEC Offensive Player of the Year wasn't ashamed of the results. 

“It’s just a great experience being here, being amongst these other guys,” Mason said to MontgomeryAdvertiser.com. “They’re great athletes themselves, but I finished sixth, and it’s still a blessing to even be in the conversation.”

Mason finished with 1,621 yards on the ground with 22 touchdowns this season.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston: 2,616 points, 668 first-place votes

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron: 704 points, 79 first-place  votes

Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch: 558 points, 40 first-place votes

Boston College running back Andre Williams: 470 points, 29 first-place votes

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel: 421 points, 30 first-place votes

Auburn running back Tre Mason: 404 points, 31 first-place votes


Here's a little reminder of Mason's 2013 success.